Heart of Palm Salad (Ensalada de Palmito)


This salad is from Nicaragua. On one of my trips to Colombia I went to a flea market and I found this cookbook, and I didn’t bother to read the title or anything. I noticed food and recipes as I browsed through it, so I just bought it (thinking it was a Colombian recipe book). On the taxi on my way home I started reading it and noticed it was a Nicaragua cookbook called Cocinando Con Maria Esther (I would link you to the book but I couldn’t find it anywhere online). I chose to do this salad from the cookbook because it looked so delicious and in the ingredients there were apples! I have so much apples, I need to use them up! All in all this salad has a great flavor and it’s good for you. Serve this salad as an appetizer, light lunch, or as a side dish. Enjoy!

Printable Recipe

Makes for 2-3 Servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 Can of Heart of Palm, sliced
  • 1 Plum Tomato, thickly chopped
  • 2 loose-leafs of an Iceberg Lettuce, one break into pieces with hand & the other for garnish
  • 1 Small Carrot, peeled & grated
  • 1 Celery, chopped
  • 1 Apple (any kind you like or have on hand), chopped

For Dressing:

  • 1/4 – 1/2 Cup Plain Yogurt
  • 1/2 Tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Tsp Honey
  • 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Tsp White Distilled Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Lime juice
  • Pinch of Salt

Preparation:

Start by mixing the chopped ingredients in a bowl.

In another bowl mix the dressing ingredients together until smooth. Then pour it into the chopped salad and mix. Serve salad into your platters and enjoy.

About Sherlly

I love food.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Fruits, Lunch, Nicaraguan, Salad, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heart of Palm Salad (Ensalada de Palmito)

  1. Pingback: Heart of Palm Salad (Ensalada de Palmito) by Sherlly Ontiveros « Truvianni's Blog

  2. Pingback: Christmas!! | Ecualombian

Leave a Reply

