Brunch at Abuela’s.


Yesterday I paid a visit to my grandmother. I always go on the weekends and she’ll always prepare something delicious. She’s Colombian my father’s mother. At 76 years old she still manages to always stay busy and never let laziness get in her way. She doesn’t like it when I help her in the kitchen and always wants to do everything on her own.

Abuela prepared her version of “bolon”. Bolon is originally an Ecuadorian dish (where my mother is from), it’s fried green plantain dumplings in which you can stuff it with cheese or chicharrones (fried pork rind) . My mother taught abuela how to do bolon…..Grandma totally changed it. Her’s looked more like pancakes. But in the end it tasted really good…..It was different.

(Photo: Abuela Cooking)

I love how my grandmother manages to cook so well in her small like very small kitchen….I wouldn’t be able to do that, I’ll freak out! I like my space…

(Photo: Abuela’s Bolon)

Ingredients:

  • 4 Green Plantains, Peeled and Cooked in water until tender (This is grandma’s style. Ecuadorian style is more like cooking it in oil)
  • 1 Bunch Scallions, Finely Chopped
  • 1 Cup White Cheese (Queso Fresco), Grated
  • 1 Cup Bacon, Cooked & Chopped
  • 1/4 Cup Butter for mixture and 2 Tbsp for cooking.
  • 2 Tbsp Canola Oil
  • Salt, to taste

Preparation:

After cooking plantain’s, in a bowl start mashing it down (like mashed potato). Then with hands (I recommend wearing gloves) mix the rest of ingredients together. The mixture should look like this:

Yes I know it might look a little gross but trust me it’s delicious!

Preheat pan and add in the butter and canola oil. After mixing, grab small pieces of the mixture and start forming them into little pancakes. Pan fry the bolon until golden and crispy on each sides. Transfer to a plate lined with paper towels to drain the grease then serve immediately.

Enjoy.

(Photo: Bolon, Hot Chocolate, Cheese)

Amen.

 

-Sherlly

 

About Sherlly

I love food.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Ecuadorian, Sweet/Green Plantains and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

