Scrambled Eggs with Tomato, Scallions, & Honey Ham (Huevos Pericos)


This is my version of a well-known Colombian dish for breakfast called Huevos Pericos which is pretty much just eggs, tomato, and scallions. But I like adding honey ham to it, because it taste’s delicious and gives it a sweet taste (not sugar-like sweet). As you can see I eat it with an Arepa it is a pancake-like bread made out of corn in which I toasted on top of a grill pan, love the charcoal/rustic look to it. It’s crunchy which add’s texture to the dish. You can also substitute it with a toast of bread.

I share with you this recipe so you can calculate how much of each ingredient you like. I’m giving you the basic flavors that go well with each other.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Eggs Per Person (or however much you like)
  • 1/2 Tomato, small dice
  • 2 Scallions, Finely Chopped
  • 2 Slices of Honey Ham, Finely Chopped
  • 2 Tbsp Heavy Cream (If you don’t have any it’s okay you don’t really need it. I feel like it helps the scrambled eggs get fluffy and moist)
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • Salt & Pepper, To Taste
  • Arepa, Toasted on grill pan (I bought these colombian arepas in the refrigerator section of my supermarket. They’re sold in almost all supermarkets)

Preparation:

Preheat pan and add in butter till melted. Cook tomatoes, scallions, and ham for about 5 minutes on medium low heat. While cooking whisk together in a bowl the eggs, heavy cream, salt and pepper. Add the egg mixture into the pan raise the heat to medium and start making your typical scrambled eggs. Taste to check your seasoning then serve right away with your arepa.

Enjoy!

-Sherlly

About Sherlly

I love food.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Colombian, Pork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrambled Eggs with Tomato, Scallions, & Honey Ham (Huevos Pericos)

  1. I love making scramble or fried eggs for breakfast.Now I got a new list for my breakfast menu. Thanks!

  2. Sherlly says:

    Yeah this is my favorite way of making scrambled eggs. You’re Welcome!

Leave a Reply

