How To Cook Rice (My Way)


Most people know how to cook rice and for those that don’t… Welcome.

I love rice and grew up with it being a main side dish for every meal (yes it’s definitely a Hispanic thing). This is my fathers way of making rice and I’ve changed it a bit, adding aromatics to flavor it. I think it tastes good….Now you be the judge.

Makes for 3-4 cups of rice.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Extra Long Grain Rice, rinse if needed but I didn’t (I use Carolina Enriched Rice)
  • 2 Tbsp Canola Oil
  • 3 Cups Water
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 Top/Bottom of an Onion (scrap parts or 1/2 piece of flesh)
  • 1 Sprig of Cilantro

Preparation:

Bring pot or saucepan to medium heat with oil. Add in rice and toast for 2 minutes.

Then add in the water and aromatics/seasonings. The salt, bay leaf, garlic powder, trimming of onion, sprig of cilantro and stir. Bring pot to high heat.

I really like to save the top/bottom of the onion, which usually is thrown away. But I found it’s very useful for making rice, has lots of flavor.

Cover pot when most of the water is reduced and when you see bubbles coming out from the rice….Like this:

Cook covered on medium low heat for 15-20 minutes. Then ready to serve.

Enjoy.

-Sherlly

About Sherlly

I love food.
This entry was posted in Colombian, Dinner, Ecuadorian, Lunch, Rice, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How To Cook Rice (My Way)

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving! | Ecualombian

  2. Pingback: My Thanksgiving Menu | Ecualombian

  3. Pingback: Christmas!! | Ecualombian

Leave a Reply

