Tuna Croquette (Croquetas de Atun)


HAPPY NEW YEAR!! I’m back =). Lately I’ve been working for my father who owns a jewelry casting company and I’m there all day, get home late, and have no natural light for the pictures. That’s why I’ve been lost. So today I made this delicious snack which can also be used as an appetizer for a party or even a light lunch…Ok, not THAT light…Haha. It’s Ecuadorian and it reminds me of my grandmother from mom’s side, she would make these whenever we had canned tuna on hand. I prefer the tuna in olive oil it tastes better than the water kind….Just my opinion.

Makes for 9-12 croquettes (depending on size)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Pound Russet or Idaho Potatoes (about 3 medium size make a pound)
  • 1 Can Tuna in Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Tbsp Parsley, minced
  • 1 Cup Bread Crumbs
  • 2 Tbsp Ketchup, and extra for dipping
  • 1 Cup Canola Oil (or any cooking oil you prefer)
  • 1 Tsp Salt and 1/2 Tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Preparation:

Peel and cut in 1 inch pieces the potatoes and cook in salted boiling water until tender. Once cooked, pass through a potato masher or mash them anyway you can till smooth in a bowl.

Mix well the potato, tuna, 1 egg, ketchup, salt and pepper.

Heat the oil. Whisk the other egg in a bowl and in another bowl add in the bread crumbs. Dip the croquettes in the egg first then the bread crumbs and pan fry till golden brown. When cooked place croquettes on a plate lined with paper towels to drain excess oil and serve with ketchup.

Enjoy.

-Sherlly.



About Sherlly

I love food.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Ecuadorian, Lunch, New Years, Potatoes, Seafood, Side Dish, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuna Croquette (Croquetas de Atun)

  1. Memoria says:

    ¡Estas croquetas de atún (acento en la “u”) se ven perfectas y riquísimas! Gracias por las fotos detalladas. Las voy a preparar muy pronto.

  2. jodiemomo says:

    What a great recipe! I love the potato/tuna combo! It looks so tasty! I would love if you would add this recipe to our Tuna Tuesday link up! Thanks! http://eatinonthecheap.com/2011/01/11/tuna-tuesday-cheesy-tuna-corn-chowder/

  3. Fantastic ! So glad you told me about it, as my daughter loves both tuna and potatoes! this is an easy, cheap, tasty, and pretty dish and I could make it in a heartbeat!

  4. Pingback: Leftovers. | spicysalt

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving! | Ecualombian

Leave a Reply

